Yoga Retreat
Kundalini Awakening

The Yoga Retreat, has been opened in an ancient hermitage to create a space where the 21st century person, who is a product of his environment, can learn from the spiritual masters and sages of India.
Self Healing

The module of Kundalini Awakening is divided into six courses of 10 days each. These provide awareness and knowledge of the science of Kundalini Yoga with guidance through the six stages of spiritual unfolding associated with the chakras. The process of unleashing the kundalini involves redirecting the prana to flow through the sushumna or central channel rather than the ida (lunar) and pingala (solar) channels. The beginning process involves asanas, pranayama and dhyana on the subtle body and chakras. The process involves the gentle guiding of the kundalini through each level, chakra by chakra.

This is not a process to be undertaken without the guidance of an enlightened guru. The kundalini when released often has unimaginable power akin to a tornado unleashed. In its upward journey it pierces the 6 chakras to reach the sahasrara at the crown of the head. The process, if not properly understood, can lead to unimaginable damage to the body and mind. Guided properly it leads to yoga -or union- with the Absolute.

The seven chakras or psychoenergetic centres from the base upwards are:

  1. Muladhar: From mula or root and adhara or support. This chakra is the lower most chakra situated at the base of the spine.This chakra is associated with the earth element and is represented and seen as a four petaled lotus.
  2. Svadhisthaan: From sva or own and adhishthan or base. Located at the genitals this chakra represents the water element and is seen as a 6 spoked wheel.
  3. Manipura: From mani jewel and pur or pura meaning city. Thus called the jeweled city and represented by a ten petaled lotus. It is located at the nabhi or navel and also referred to as the nabi chakra. It is associated with the third element, fire element.
  4. Hridaya or Anahata chakra. The Sanskrit word hridaya refers to the heart and anahat translates to “unstruck”. Situated at the heart. At this level the music of the cosmos can be heard. Called unstruck because the cosmic vibration can be heard without any object being struck. Element -air.
  5. Vishuddha: From shuddha meaning pure. This chakra is located at the throat. Element ether. At this level one receives a taste of soma ras or the nectar of immortality which is produced at a location just behind this chakra. Element – ether. Seen as a 16 petalled lotus.
  6. Ajna or the command wheel. This chakra is the third eye. The chakra is referred to as the command wheel or guru chakra because this is the psycho-energetic centre through which telepathic communications from the guru are received. Seenas a two petalled lotus. At this level the aspirant has moved beyond the five elements.
  7. Sahasrara or the thousand petalled one. Location- the crown of the head. At this level the yogi is immersed in universal consciousness.

As the kundalini awakens and rises through the central channel, the chakras bloom one by one with the manifestation of higher and higher level of consciousness. Ultimately at the level of the Sahasrara, Shakti unites with Shiva or God.

An example of a yogi’s journey is that of Yudhistar’s described in the Bhagavad Gita:

He offered his speech as oblation to his mind.
Then his mind to Prana (life force).
Prana to Apana (the other).
Apana to death.
Then death to the 5 principles or Bhoothajaya. Earth, water, fire, air and ether.
The 5 to the triad. Rajas, Sattva, Guna.
Then finally the 3 to the Mahatattva.